Zumba is not just dance – it’s meditation!


I went to Zumba this morning. Nothing extraordinary there, but life has been throwing up some extraordinary events, so I hadn’t been since Christmas and was feeling somewhat out of shape and under the weather. There were loads of new faces and with relief, I noticed lots of familiar ones too. I positioned myself nearer the middle than the front, I wasn’t sure whether I would remember the moves or be able to keep up. I needn’t have worried. Like breathing, the moves came back and I kept going without collapsing in a quivering heap at the side (that happened when I first started and my body was unused to that level of cardiovascular exercise!) ZumbaIt was great to hear some new tunes too; it’s always good to dance to something unfamiliar in terms of choreography but familiar as you’ve heard it on the radio or in a club. I’ve been a total Zumba convert for quite a few years now, as it’s been the best fun I’ve had whilst toning up. But something else occurred to me today, I was so involved in the dance, the steps and the music that whatever troubles had been worrying me when I stepped into the hall, quickly vanished. Lost in the rhythm of dance, the synchronised steps of all of the Zumbettes had taken me right out of myself. Like an out of body experience. Radiantlady loves ZumbaI read somewhere that dancing or singing can be a form of meditation. Your mind is totally focused on what you are doing, to the exclusion of everything else. It’s not quite the silent, ‘OM’ type of mediation that is also practiced, but it’s a step in the right direction. Geddit?! Like all healing practice, a level of dedication is required to reap the full benefit and the same is with Zumba. Going out in a crop top and leggings on a cold February morning takes commitment. Getting back into your exercise habit take guts. When you’re a little out of shape or feeling low, taking that first step back into the driving seat – in my case literally whacking up the heating in my freezing vehicle – takes commitment. But the sense of well being, balance and the reconnection of mind body and soul is one hundred percent worth it. Like the advert says: #thisgirlcan Here’s a little plug for the wonderful Adrienne! https://www.zumba.com/en-US/instructor/Adrienne_Green/69737  Zumba Love!

Suzy Rigg

Leave a Reply

