Conversation about everyday life


Conversation Between Friends about theatre
Conversation Between Friends about theatre

The photo above is one I took of a local theatre, the Hampton Hill Playhouse. I love the word ‘playhouse’ as it sounds so much more accessible than ‘theatre’ which can sound a bit highbrow.

Anyway, I snapped it on one of the scorching days in August (2014) and managed to get a shot of it minutes before loads of cars and people walked in front of it. I like the sense of history in this photo – if you fade it into black and white in your mind’s eye, it could have looked like this a hundred year’s ago, minus the cars of course. The Hampton Hill Playhouse is modern and a purpose-built construction used by local theatre, ballet and operatic societies. It’s a great local building and an important part of the character of this Hampton Hill. The building has a solid and welcoming structure, which will hopefully become a longstanding part of the architecture of this South West London hamlet.

It’s important to appreciate your local environment, to examine familiar scenes you may walk past every day and not think too much about.

Here are a few other pics very local to me, every day scenes, reflecting images I see almost without looking. Thinking about these pictures reminds me in sharp contrast of some of the cruel and bitter images I see on the news of daily heartbreak, destruction and misery. I feel the need even more acutely, to capture some of the ordinary images of my daily life and remind myself how extraordinarily blessed I am to look upon these things as the norm.

Conversation about cats? The internet is full of them!
Conversation about cats? The internet is full of them! Next door’s cat
Conversation Between Friends lovely charity shops
Conversation Between Friends lovely charity shops

 

If you’re a theatre lover, check out the programme here..http://www.hamptonhillplayhouse.org.uk/

Incidentally reader, I haven’t been paid to write this piece by the theatre company, but I’m passionate about the arts and think it’s a good thing to pass on the details, it helps the theatre to thrive and supports local acting, musical and artistic talent.

Suzy Rigg

© Writing every word

Leave a Reply

