Guiding Girls into Positive Body Image


If you were ever a Girl Guide, what sort of experiences did you have? I remember cold ground sheets, even colder showers, banana with chocolate pieces warmed by campfire embers, being woken up by sheep peeping into the tent and lots of belly laughs – usually on the coach back, from sheer relief that I had survived the experience!

What I wasn’t aware of was, myself. Or my hair, make up or the shape of my body. Perhaps I grew up in a less pressurised time, or maybe I hadn’t grown into that level of self-consciousness yet, but I certainly don’t recall being concerned about what I looked like. (Hard to believe, if you know me now!)

Guiding: A unique chance for girls to be free of body fascism
Guiding: A unique chance for girls to be free of body fascism

Photo above belongs to Calgary Girl Guides, click here if you would like to make a donation: http://www.calgarygirlguides.com/donations.html

On the Girl Guides website, their aim is to develop:

  • self-confidence, self-esteem
  • sound values
  • ability to cope with change
  • appreciation of others
  • leadership skills
  • healthy lifestyles
  • international understanding
Conversation Between Friends loves confidence
Conversation Between Friends loves confidence

The photo above belongs to Girl Guiding: You can find out more about their campaigns here: http://www.girlguiding.org.uk/campaigns/be_body_confident.aspx

Conversation Between Friends loves confidence and was interested to read that the GG has recently launched a badge called “Free being me” as part of a campaign to address girls’ confidence  – or lack of – in their appearance. A good idea but I felt tinged with sadness reading about it. Would the cubs and boy scouts ever require a similar badge? Being a young woman is a time of exploration, learning, fun and freedom. I wish more girls could grip these ideas as they transform from girls to young women.  All mothers of daughters should encourage their girls to give guiding a go. Actually, if the badge encourages a change in perception, and creates a more positive body images – it’s a great idea.

 

© Suzy Rigg

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

