Conversation with my grandfather: An Elder Speaks


It has taken me a while to load this video. Firstly I cringe when I hear myself speak.

Secondly, I remember how much I miss my granddad for his wise words and wicked sense of humour.

He had a knack of delivering an important message, with a twinkle in his eye whilst making a gentle, humourous dig.

It’s not easy being a parent and although we all use excuses about time, money, ‘society’ other people’s children… his message is startlingly clear and up-to-minute.

Parents need to parent.  Simple! How we behave, speak to other adults, speak to our children, their teachers, our parents, our children’s friends.  This early modelling cannot and should not be underestimated in terms of the massive impact we have on our children’s development. Massive.

The demands on our time are relentless:  jobs, other children, elderly parents,  husbands, ex-wives, yoga classes, the weekly shop but those little people who live with us, look like us and love us (most of the time) require consistent attention and interaction.

I know, no one said it was easy. But this reminder from a man who lived to see his children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren grow up and thrive, carries some potent words and reminders for us all 🙂

Suzy Rigg

Leave a Reply

