Olympia


i

In stadium est laudum – the goal is to praise

To be lifted up above competitors’ heads

On the roar and swell of human approval as

The endurance of my personal pain is a torch half-lit

Without the fire of admiration, to strike it into full flame.

There is no merit in weightless feet pounding the earth at breathless speed,

Unless the eyes of a million cities are gazing on them in wonder.

ii

‘There is no ‘i’ in team’ is a laughable phrase as clearly

The team would be nothing without me

I carry them, us, our country, the world, ME!

Oh sweet victory, let this be my, I mean our, moment

Of crowning glory!

iii

I’m watching, straining as far as my eyes can see

But surely those dots on the screen can’t be real?

What’s real is the man next to me, well his stink

Does he need to be inebriated to enjoy this spectacle?

It’s pointless standing apart during this once in a lifetime opportunity

So I’ll merge with the spectators I am crushed with, like family

And cheer for my team, my county, my heroes ~

In stadium est laudum.

© Suzy Rigg July 2012

This poem was also published in the June issue of What The Dickens Magazine.

The photograph is Jesse Owens, an American Olympian who won four  gold medals at the 1936 Berlin Olympics.

I  love how Olympics is never just about sport, there is always a deeper tale of personal sacrifice and eventual triumph.

Leave a Reply

