Rihanna: Man Down


Rihanna with cute pixie hair

I love Rihanna’s song ‘Man Down’.

I thought it was reggae artist Dawn Penn singing, the vocals are crystal clear and moving. Sung like the old style reggae soul singers.

The lyrics are raw, sad and her sweet Bajan accent just twists and turns through the melody.

And for those of you not familiar, Dawn Penn’s famous reggae hot was  entitled, ‘No, No No’ and he’s a fabulous picture of her, with look a wild mohican!

Dawn Penn: should have told the hairdresser: No, No No!

{A lil’ lesson: The Mahicans (also Mohicans) are an Eastern Algonquian Native American tribe, originally settling in the Hudson River Valley (around Albany, NY). }

Lyrics  shock

“I didn’t mean to lay him down

But its too late to turn back now
Don’t know what I was thinking
Now he’s no longer living
So Imma bout to leave town

Cause I didn’t mean to hurt him
Coulda been somebody’s son
And I took his heart when
I pulled out that gun…”

Rihanna as a young girl

I like the departure from the overly produced dance sounds, the slightly depraved lyrics and the total vamped out image.

I haven’t seen the video yet, I hope it enhances my pure enjoyment of this lament.

Here’s Ri Ri, ‘Man Down’: Man Down

Ri Ri, beach belle!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sEhy-RXkNo0

And here’s a little Dawn Penn No, No, No, Dawn Penn

Enjoy 😉

Read Is Rihanna’s image too sexy?

Suzy Rigg

